USDOT Number - USDOT STB/FMC Licensed Transportation Practitioners
Unified Carrier Registration
The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program is a Federally-mandated, annual state-administered registration program.
Enforcement is now in progress in certain states.
2011 UCR is overdue.
Nationwide Enforcement in progress...
Note: If you start operations in the 4th Quarter of 2011,
you are liable for both 2011 & 2012 UCR. UCR is not pro-rated. Once you complete your 2011 UCR Registration, you will be automatically prompted to file 2012.
Motor carriers, motor private carriers, freight forwarders, leasing companies and brokers based in the United States, Canada, Mexico, or any other country that operate in interstate or international commerce in the United States must register under the UCR program. For the for-hire carriers, UCR replaced the Single State Registration System (SSRS) program. SSRS was not renewed for 2007.
The UCR program is similar to SSRS in that UCR is a Base-State system, under which a carrier pays UCR fees through its Base State on behalf of all participating states.
The Following 41 States Currently Participate:
Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia
Carriers that operated in INTERstate commerce in 2010 and did not register for 2010 UCR are liable for civil penalties. The UCR Board of Directors has indicated non-compliance will be determined through state compliance reviews and bill of lading audits. To avoid a fine, you may submit registration for 2010 UCR now by clicking on the appropriate link below.
Entities not required to register under the UCR program include:
1. USDOT registrants (usually owner-operators that do not have interstate authority) under the PRISM program;
2. Purely intrastate carriers, that is, those that do not transport interstate freight or cross state lines.
Notice for trucks operating solely
within the state of Georgia:
Georgia has a separate filing requirement for trucks operating solely within the state. To register, click on the applicable link below:
Copyright 2011 James P. Lamb & Associates